diamond 4c chart

<h1> Diamond 4C Chart: Understanding Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat </h1>

When shopping for a natural diamond, you may always worry about its color, clarity, cut and carat size, also known as the 4’cs in the popular diamond language. The four C’s generally determine the quality of your diamond, but wait there is more to the 4’cs. The fifth C, “Conflict-Free” indicates a rough gemstone not sourced in a conflict zone.

Before selecting a diamond, you need to understand how to ensure you get what you pay for. Learning how a diamond’s value is calculated will also help you make choices. You may choose a larger stone, for example, with less inclusion or minor defects, over a perfect but far more compact stone. When selecting a stone, consult with a jeweler about its potential.

Here we present you a mini guide about the diamond 4c chart and how you could benefit by knowing this information while purchasing the perfect diamond of your dream.

1. Diamond cuts: 

different diamond cuts
different diamond cuts

Cut is graded as poor, fair, good, very good, or excellent.

The diamond’s cut is the most essential diamond feature since it determines whether the stone sparkles and its quality. When light strikes a diamond, the angles carved within the diamond allow it to glow like a dazzling ball across to one another.

The most popular cuts to try for a dazzling diamond stone:

  1. Round brilliant cut diamond has 57 facets
  2. Rectangular emerald with 44 facets
  3. Square princess 50 to 58 facets
  4. Oval with 56 facets
  5. Slender marquise 58 facets
  6. Hybrid pear with a 58 facets

2.  Diamond Clarity:

diamond clarity
diamond clarity

Clarity is the second crucial part of picking a stone, as it sets its refraction and dazzling effect on your jewelry.

Clarity assesses the mineral content of the diamond and the likelihood (or lack) of subtle flaws. The more clean or flawless the diamond, the more bright and expensive it becomes. Internal defects are referred to as inclusions, whereas outward flaws are known as blemishes.

Jewelers and gemologists grade clarity on a scale ranging from FL (flawless) to VVS (very, very slightly included), SI (slightly included), and I (included), with numerical grades for each category.

We suggest you consult a jewelry expert while picking this part of your diamond selection. Also, your personal choice of stone will depend on what style of clarity you desire.

3. Diamond color


diamond colors

Diamonds are rich in tones while they are mainly preferred as colorless diamonds. Colorless diamonds are much more expensive than colored diamonds, due to immense sparkle and reflection properties.

Other popular colors are pink, blue, yellow, green, and red. Celebrities, royalty, and artists can also have an impact on demand, resulting in an instant rise in costs for a specific color.

4. Diamond carat


The carat size refers to the weight of your stone. The heavier the diamond, the more pricey it is. Because diamond carat relates to how much a diamond weighs rather than its size, it is the least essential of the four C’s of diamonds. Two diamonds with the same weight in carats but different shapes can vary greatly in size.

5. Conflict-Free Diamonds

conflict free diamonds
conflict free diamonds

Conflict-free diamonds have grown to become essential to many customers in recent years. “Conflict” or “blood” stones are rough diamonds sourced from a civil battle-torn country or zone and may have been illegally immorally used to fund a battle against a government or competing faction.

“Conflict-free” gems are mined in peaceful nations with higher standards and regulated business and labor policies, such as Australia or Canada, and then sold by respectable dealers or jewelry stores.

Many customers prefer conflict-free diamonds for contributing to society.

Importance of 4’c checklist :

If you are looking for a diamond that is everlasting and a great choice for a heirloom you must know how essential it is to check the 4’cs of your diamond. It is important to get your hands on a diamond that is ethically sourced and bespoke in all sections.

Overall, you want to focus your purchase on how it appears to the naked eye. The saying goes like this… “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” just as you wouldn’t evaluate a gem by its hallmark.

If you wish to learn more about the 4’cs of your diamond, you may connect directly with us. You get an array of rich white natural diamonds as well as colored diamonds on Rustic and Gold.

Plus, we ship globally so no more worries about the shipping process. Simply select your desired diamond and we customize your dream jewelry. We hope this guide helped you figure out the basics of the Diamond 4’c chart.


What are the 4 C’s of diamonds?

The 4 C’s of diamonds refer to Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight. These criteria are used to assess the quality and value of a diamond, influencing its beauty and sparkle.

What is the most important C in diamonds?

The most crucial C in diamonds is Cut, as it directly affects the stone’s brilliance and how well it reflects light. A well-cut diamond will appear more luminous and visually appealing.

What is most important when buying a diamond?

When buying a diamond, the most important aspects to consider are the 4 C’s: Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat. However, the cut is often considered the most critical factor because it influences the diamond’s overall sparkle and beauty.

What to look for in a diamond?

When examining a diamond, focus on the 4 C’s: Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat. Additionally, consider the diamond’s certification, its shape, and the type of setting that will showcase its best features. Ensuring the diamond’s cut quality should be a priority, as it greatly influences its sparkle and overall appearance.


Leave a Reply